Our Team

Kim Smith
Board Chair & Executive Director
Kim is the owner and operator of Moserwood Farms, a thoroughbred and sport horse boarding and training facility in Prospect, Kentucky. She also works as a bloodstock agent and has been a licensed thoroughbred trainer. She is a lifelong horsewoman whose passion is helping develop the potential of former racehorses. She is a native of Kentucky, and holds a degree in Psychology from the University of Louisville.
Board of Directors:
  • Dr. Jeff Willard, DVM, Vice Chairman
  • Laura Forbes, JD, CPA, Secretary
  • Glenn Curry, EA, MBA, Treasurer
  • Dr. Karen Babcock, DMD, Director
  • Gary Palmisano, Jr., Director
  • Lauren Smith, Director
Adoption Counselor: Toni Hindall starts the process of evaluating each horse that comes into the program, helping settle them in at Second Stride, helping us evaluate each new horse's way of going and disposition, meeting adopters and answering questions. Toni has done just about every job in thoroughbred racing and is also a very experienced barrel racing rider and breeder.
Adoption Coordinator: Kara Lee helps with everything! She does adoption application processing, office administration and she also rides the Second Stride horses. Kara has been an assistant trainer and is currently an exercise rider at the racetrack.
Web Site Manager: Amy Stevens maintains our web site with regular updates. All new horses in the program are posted on the web site quickly, and listings are updated regularly with our evaluations, new photos and videos.
Development Manager: Amy Eirich leads the planning for our major fundraising events and maintains relationships with donors. Amy graduated from Duke University with a Bachelor of Arts degree and from University of Minnesota with a Master's degree in Business Administration.
Advisory Board:
  • Barbara Borden, Kentucky State Racing Steward

  • Bill Landes, General Manager, Hermitage Farm

  • Del Lowell, General Manager, LaCroix Training Center

  • Nick Rennekamp, thoroughbred trainer, polo trainer, farm manager

  • Tom Drury, thoroughbred trainer

  • Al Stall, Jr., thoroughbred trainer

  • Paul McGee, thoroughbred trainer

  • Buff Bradley, thoroughbred breeder & trainer

  • Cathy Shircliff, Director of Community Relations, Churchill Downs

  • Megan Northrop, co-owner, Northrop Equine

  • Harvey Diamond, MD, partner, Skychai Racing LLC

  • JoAnn Heppermann, racehorse owner & author

  • Joel B. Turner, Attorney

  • Sean Beirne, Director, Equine Program, University of Louisville

  • Brian Knippenberg, Horse Manager, Hermitage Farm